Wednesday, September 08, 2010

NPAR6 2010 - Report in Star-Metro

Klang Pacer teams champs again


THE Klang Pacers Athletic Club defended their title and took the top two spots at the sixth edition of the Pacemakers Anniversary Run recently.

The Klang Pacer A team comprising K. Murali Nathan, P. Naresh Kumar, Jasni Khairil Jamaluddin and Nor Amelia Musa came in first after completing the relay in 49mins 15secs.

The team started off with its only woman runner Nor Amelia, who clocked 12:55, making her the fastest woman to complete the 3.3km lap giving a clear head start for the quartet.

Mad dash: Some 236 runners competed in the sixth edition of the Pacemakers Anniversary Run held at the Kepong Metropolitan Park recently.

Runners Sri Suganyaa, Ng Say Heong, Kesavaraja and Navin Kumar who make up the Klang Pacer B team completed the race in 51:02 to clinch the second spot.

Team I Am MAS comprising Nanthini, Vijayan Devendran, Lim Kian Huat and Jenarthan finished third in a time of 52:08.

Race adviser Ronnie See said he did not expect the race to get such good response this year with 44 competitive teams and 20 teams for the fun run category enrolling within a week.

“It is usually a low-key event as we do not advertise it anywhere, only on our blog page ( and word must have got around from there,” added See, who manages the site himself.

The fastest: (from left) First place winners K. Murali Nathan, P. Naresh Kumar, Jasni Khairil Jamaluddin and Nor Amelia Musa of team Klang Pacer A showing off their medals after the race.

He said the Pacemakers group first started out the relay race with only nine competing teams and it had increased steadily over the years, opening up to the public for a chance to try out what running in a relay team is all about.

To make the race more interesting, they have also made it compulsory for all teams under the competitive category to have at least one woman runner in the quartet.

Previously, the group had been organising the run at the Lake Gardens. However, with the ongoing construction at the park, the organisers decided to bring the race to Kepong’s Metropolitan Park instead.

According to See, the route is about 700 metres further than the course last year, and is slightly more challenging.

The remaining three teams My Black Society (53:31), Team Excelchem (54:24) and Panas Kaigal (55:55) completed the top six spots in the competitive category to receive a winner’s trophy each.

source from

No comments: